top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherina

Not In Vain Doth Thy Heart Cry



"Not in vain doth thy heart cry",

they would say me,

through the night;

though as I rise there seems a weight,

is bearing down upon all sides;


though in stillness, doth that cry,

seem all the louder for the rise;


as clouds bring mornings with eager strides,

I gaze, the colors - all so bright -

their passing, an illustrious and wondrous sight


And so I wonder only that I,

carry within me that heart's cry.


More profound than o'er the night,

the day brings calm, but not respite,


aye, indeed, doth thy heart cry;

When all is stillness,

and all is calm.


Not in vain, perchance not so;

Yet I feel its beating all the more;

in stillness,

a pain that seeks to end its beating.


"But not in vain doth thy heart cry",

they would say me,

all the while.


Aye, not in vain doth thy heart cry

- yet in sorrow I live with no respite.


------


If you are interested in any more of my poetry you can check out......:




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page